New ReCap Functionality and My First Point Cloud Creation


So, I finally broke down and purchased a drone. I got a really good deal on a DJI Phantom 3 Professional with a bundle. I have read some mixed reviews on the Phantom 4 and some really good reviews on the Phantom 3.

Anyway, to get to the news and the software I used to create this so called “masterpiece”.

To begin, I used Pix4D Mapper to capture the images with the drone and my android tablet. I did a polar flight path around my house and it took a total of 23 pictures. I know what you’re thinking, “it couldn’t be that good of data with just 23 pictures”. Well, I didn’t think it would either.

Have you seen the new ReCap Photo? If you haven’t, and you are processing pictures, I highly recommend it. If you are wondering how to get it, it’s quite easy. If you are a subscriber to ReCap Pro, uninstall it, and reinstall the new version. It will then install ReCap Photo. It is now an install instead of having to use the Photo to 3D option online.

This new install is MUCH better. It has many more features, one being my favorite…

Coordinate System projection!!!

Below is a screenshot of the program with my 23 processed pictures…

2017-09-26_15-40-43

After processing this in ReCap Photo, I brought it into ReCap to generate an .rcs file to bring into InfraWorks.

2017-09-26_15-52-11

My next task is to shoot lots more photos at different altitudes and angles. Stay tuned…

 

 

Leave a Reply

